Understanding Pennsylvania’s DUI LawsSeptember 18, 2019
In 2003, Pennsylvania updated its laws regarding intoxicated driving in two ways: it lowered the blood alcohol content needed to be convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) and increased penalties associated with multiple convictions. The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for drivers aged 21 and older is now reduced from .10 percent to .08 percent in Pennsylvania. For drivers under 21, it is .02 percent. Drivers should be aware that impairment begins after one drink is consumed. Impairment includes a reduction in reaction time, reduced motor skills, and general judgment.
Various advocacy groups in Pennsylvania advocated for steeper penalties, especially those with multiple DUI charges. These advocacy groups were started by parents who lost children in drunk driving accidents. It is important to note that over one million people in Pennsylvania have DUI offenses on their records.
Before more stringent laws were enacted, a person convicted of a DUI was charged with a misdemeanor and there were no higher charges or jail time associated with subsequent offenses. Presently, three DUI convictions now constitute a third-degree felony. Additionally, if the offenses were associated with a BAC over 0.16 percent, then the driver can face prison time of up to seven years. A fourth DUI, regardless of the BAC, will also be associated with prison time of up to seven years.
Drivers who commit homicide while under the influence will also be accompanied with greater penalties and jail time. Drivers should take this seriously and think twice before driving under the influence. There are more options now for those who have a few drinks and do not want to drive home.
Steps to Take After a Car Accident
After an accident, drivers should always contact police and receive a physical evaluation to check for injuries that may not be immediately obvious. Drivers should take pictures, obtain contact information from witnesses, and document the accident scene. If you sustained injuries, it is important to record any losses you may have suffered as a result of the accident. This includes any lost wages or bills that are associated with physical or medical damage you may have suffered.
Delaware County Car Accident Lawyers at the Law Office of Deborah M. Truscello Assist Victims Injured in Drunk Driving Accidents
If you were injured in a car accident where the driver was under the influence, a Delaware County car accident lawyer at the Law Office of Deborah M. Truscello can help. We will determine the most important facts in your case and obtain the compensation you deserve. Located in Media, Pennsylvania, we serve clients throughout Bucks County, Chester County, Delaware County, Lancaster, Montgomery County, Norristown, Philadelphia, Reading, and West Chester, Pennsylvania. Contact us online or call us at 610-892-4940 for a free consultation today.